NFC Committee

The Committee is chaired by Catherine Martin T.D., Minister for Tourism, Culture, Arts, Gaeltacht, Sport and Media and is made up of historians, representatives from the charity sector, the National Library of Ireland, and the Arts Council, along with officials from the Department of Education, the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, the Department of the Taoiseach, the Department of Defence, and representatives from the Defence Forces.

The annual national commemoration revolves between the four provinces of Ireland. The National Famine Commemoration Committee assesses and evaluates submissions received in accordance with agreed standard criteria. When the National Famine Commemoration Committee has agreed the site, the Minister announces the location.